Review: Lily of the Nile

October 26, 2011

Lily of the Nile
Lily of the Nile by Stephanie Dray
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Absolutely fantastic. I devoured this book as quickly as I could because it was one of the best historical fictions books I have ever read. I know everyone compares this to [b:Cleopatra’s Daughter|6340471|Cleopatra’s Daughter|Michelle Moran|http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51eO0rqTIiL._SL75_.jpg|5973842] but they are different. Even the author acknowledges that Moran’s book covers the same subject, Cleopatra Selene, and partly the same timeline but Dray does wonderful new things with her characters and the idea that there is magic in their Ptolemaic blood. I cannot wait for the next book in their series which looks to be amazing and covers a part of Selene’s life that has been neglected in the novels I have seen so far. This is definitely a must read. Love the book Ms Moran but Stephanie Dray holds my heart with Cleopatra Selene as she covers more.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

