Review: A Princess of Mars

April 4, 2012

A Princess of Mars
A Princess of Mars by Edgar Rice Burroughs
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I will admit that I discovered this series because of the movie “John Carter”. The book had several similarities to the movie but the writers needed to make changes to the script in order to make it palatable for today’s viewers. I will admit I liked the movie more than the book. Several people in discussing the movie have said that the book does not always follow a straight plot line but it also did not have some of the unneeded subplots that the movie did. I also kept in mind what Edgar Rice Burroughs said before writing this book: “…if people were paid for writing rot such as I read in some of those magazines, that I could write stories just as rotten.” I will not say that the book is rotten but it also is not high literature. It is not meant to be. It is a good way to pass the time and will keep you entertained for a few hours. I give it an extra star just for Burroughs being a bad ass in admitting he was writing crap and he was ok with that.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

