Review: The Gods of Mars

April 7, 2012

The Gods of Mars
The Gods of Mars by Edgar Rice Burroughs
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Another entry in the John Carter of Mars series down and it was very good. We have now moved onto the Valley of Dor and the first appearance of the Holy Therns. I found it interesting the number of women that fall in love with John Carter but I suppose for the Barsoomians, his fighting spirit makes him attractive. I also did like that both the white men and black men of Mars were the bad guys and the red men are the good guys. It was a good fighting book and the short appearance of Dejah Thoris left off on a great cliffhanger- I wanted to start reading the next one immediately. I can already see how Burroughs’ writing has improved drastically from the first book to this one. A great read.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

