Review: The Magicians

April 29, 2012

The Magicians
The Magicians by Lev Grossman
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I read this book for the Sword and Laser book club and it was an interesting novel but not mind blowing for me. This was pitched to me as Harry Potter for adults but this has much less of a focus on the school and more on the people and how they grow up. Quentin is not always a likable character but he did keep me engaged in the book. I did greatly enjoy the characters and how throwaway characters at the beginning came back in the end much more important to both Fillory and Quentin. It was well written and I was drawn into the story every time I picked it up but when I finished, I was left with the sense of ennui. I may try the next book in the series to see what happens to Quentin but if I never get to it, that works too.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

