Review: Redshirts

September 5, 2012

Redshirts
Redshirts by John Scalzi
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book was fantastic. Oh my gosh I did not want to put it down. This is definitely a book for any Star Trek fan, even those inevitable awful episodes. We are following ensigns who have been assigned to the Intrepid for duty. The contrasting thoughts of these ensigns and their actions lead to some of the best moments of the book. They act like brave idiots and over-dramatic when with the senior crew but they cannot reconcile their actions with what common sense is telling them to do. The book could have end at the 3/4th point but the continuation did give the novel a more bittersweet ending. I want everyone to find this novel and love it as much as I did. I think that the word “Redshirt” has achieved a certain connotation in pop culture and i love that Scalzi uses this concept and flips it around for the enjoyment of the reader. I may have to dress as one of these Redshirts for Halloween even if no one knows who I am. Just brilliant.

View all my reviews

One Response to “Review: Redshirts”


  1. […] Anomoly Blog| EnglishChick21| Alexia’s Books & Such Tweet Pin […]

Leave a Reply

